top of page

(SPOILERS) Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry - Review

Updated: Aug 25, 2020

Book Synopsis: Lois Lowry once again creates a mysterious but plausible future world. It is a society ruled by savagery and deceit that shuns and discards the weak. Left orphaned and physically flawed, young Kira faces a frightening, uncertain future. Blessed with an almost magical talent that keeps her alive, she struggles with ever broadening responsibilities in her quest for truth, discovering things that will change her life forever.


My Review: I rate this book somewhere between a 3.5 and a 4. It was a nice, quick read and i thought the dystopian world was interesting. I don’t like it nearly as much as The Giver, though, which my class read in school a couple of years ago and is one of my favorite books to this day.


I wish there was more of a connection between this one and the firs book. At first, I thought that maybe Kira’s dad was Jonas, but I was wrong. Although, when Matt mentioned a boy around Kira’s age in the village, he said he had really blue eyes. If I remember correctly, Gabe, the baby from The Giver, had vibrant blue eyes. Maybe that’s the same boy somehow.


This book is perfectly fine for younger readers. It’s short and there’s no bad language. There’s hardly even any violence except for talk of Kira’s dad being killed while hunting and some people in the village wanting to get rid of Kira. It’s great for all ages.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page