top of page

Reading Habits Tag!

I got these questions from a Youtube video by someone named Ariel Bissett, I'm not sure what original source she got them from. These questions will tell you all about how, where, and when I like to read.


1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?


Yes. Whenever I'm reading at home, I'm usually sitting in this bungee chair (I think that's what it's called) that's in the middle of my bedroom. It's really comfortable and I've had it since Christmas last year. It's my main reading spot.


2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?


Definitely a bookmark. I have a lot of bookmarks and I always use them when reading. I don't just want to get a random paper or something and use that because it looks messy and unorganized. I always want to be able to easily get back to the last place I read.


3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?


I can't just stop in the middle of a chapter. I'm a perfectionist and I want to get to a nice, clean stopping point. I feel like if I don't wait until the end of the chapter it makes it harder to remember what I was reading last time because it's not at a break in the story.


4. Do you eat or drink while reading?


Not at all! I would never risk spilling or dropping crumbs on my book and messing up the pages. Drinking maybe, because I could just pick up a cup, take a drink, and then put it right back down and it won't spill anything.


5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?


No! I don't understand how some people can do that. If I was doing either of those it would be too distracting and I wouldn't be as focused on the book, therefore missing a lot of information. If I was watching a show at the same time, I would keep switching focus between both the show and the book and would not retain all of either.


6. One book at a time or several at once?


I usually read two or three books at one time and switch to a new one soon once one is finished.


7. Reading at home or everywhere?


Everywhere. I mostly read at home, school, and in the car, especially on long road trips. I'm one of those people who can read in a car and not get sick, so I take that kind of boring time when I don't have anything else to do and entertain myself by reading.


8. Reading out lout or silently in your head?


I always read in my head when I'm alone. I would just feel silly reading out loud when no one else was around to listen. Plus, whenever I'm reading out loud, I actually sometimes find it harder to pay attention to the actual information because I'm too focused on how I'm reading it and what I'm saying. I will only read out loud when I'm reading to someone.


9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?


Like I said earlier, I'm a perfectionist. I have to read all of the book. I would never even think of skipping pages and possibly missing vital information or even small but important details. As for reading ahead, I hate spoilers for anything - movies, shows, books, etc. - so I couldn't read ahead and spoil a later part of a book for myself.


10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?


I definitely like to keep them new. Books look nicer when they are in good shape and I like having my books look nice.


11. Do you write in your books?


Never! That would ruin the books and, like I just said, I don't like messing with the books I get, even if I buy them myself. Having writing in the books would also make it hard to reread if I wanted to. It would look messy and might cover up text.


----------------------------


That's all the questions in this book habits tag. Now you know a little more about my ways of reading.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page