top of page

Book Recommendations for Different Genres (2024 Edition)

I missed the actual anniversary, but it's time for the third biannual post where I give one (or two if I can't choose) book recommendation for a lot of different genres that I read. I've read a lot of books in the last two years, so I will only pick books read since the last edition. Without further ado, here are the recs!


Historical Fiction - Salt to the Sea and I Must Betray You by Ruta Sepetys


I discovered Ruta Sepetys this year and absolutely loved both of the books I've read of hers so far! Both of these books were full of emotion, action-packed, had great characters, and kept me invested right from the beginning. Not only will you get a great story, but you might learn something new, as her books focus on lesser-known parts of history.


Romance - The Silence Between Us by Alison Gervais


This book is more than just a romance; it's one of the best portrayals of a character with a disability I've seen in a book. The main character is deaf, but there were so many parts of the story I could relate to as a blind person. It's not perfect - I had a couple issues with it - but it's pretty great. The story itself is also cute.


Dystopian - Anomaly by Krista McGee


This is a Christian dystopian, but it's pretty good. It's part of a trilogy, and I've only read the first one so far, but I enjoyed it. It's not on the same level as The Hunger Games or The Giver, but it was nice that it has the gospel message included as a part of the story.


Classic - Emma by Jane Austen


My favorite classic of all time is still Little Women, but for the sake of giving a new recommendation, I'll go with Emma. I've read three Jane Austen novels so far. All of them are great, but my favorite is Emma. It's full of Jane Austen's subtle yet hilarious wit, relatable characters, and general Regency-era drama.


Christian YA - The Christy Miller Series (the later books) by Robin Jones Gunn


This is technically not a repeat from the 2022 edition. At that point, I had only finished the original series. Now, I'm recommending the spin-off series that follow Christy through college and married life, as well as the Katie Weldon and Sierra Jensen series. There are a lot of books, but they're all great!


Mystery - Sold on a Monday by Kristina McMorris


I don't know if this is considered a mystery novel, but mystery is a genre I don't read much and this has somewhat of a mystery throughout. It's loosely inspired by a real event, but is very much its own story. It was full of twists and turns, keeping you engaged. The two main characters were also great.


Fantasy - Splinters of Scarlet by Emily Bain Murphy


This one could also work for historical fiction, but it's the only fantasy I've read in the past two years that I've enjoyed. I more than enjoyed this book, I adored it! My love for it is on the same level as the Ruta Sepetys books. It was an exciting story with an interesting magical element. It had an adorable romance. The ending was my favorite part of the novel. You'll just have to read it for yourself to find out why.


Non-Fiction - The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom


I read this well-loved memoir for the first time this year and also loved it. It's an incredible story about a brave family who risked their lives to protect strangers, finding hope when it seems like all hope is lost, the power of forgiveness, and, ultimately, God’s light and truth during the darkest of times.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page