top of page

Book Recommendations For Different Genres

Updated: Aug 25, 2020

Below is a list of my favorite books or authors from all the different genres I read:


  • Contemporary Fiction: Wonder by R. J. Palacio

If you haven’t heard of this book, where have you been? The novel follows a boy named August Pullman who was born with many facial deformities as he goes through his first year ever at a real school. He deals with bullying and fake friends but it has a great, happy ending. This book is really inspirational, heartfelt, and funny and I highly recommend it.

  • Romance: On The Fence by Kasie West

I only recently got really into romance, but this is a really good one I read very recently. It follows a girl named Charlie who’s super tomboy-ish from growing up with three older brothers. One day, however, she gets a job at a girl’s clothing store and realizes she actually kind of likes that sort of stuff. The romance aspect of it is that Charlie has a crush on her next door neighbor, Braden, who had been almost like an honorary fourth brother for forever. This book is fairly short so it’s a nice, quick and wholesome read.

  • Historical Fiction: Prisoner B-3087 by Alan Gratz (or any of Alan Gratz’ historical novels)

I read this book with my class last year because we were learning about WWII. It’s based off of a true story of a boy in concentration camps. The boy’s name is Yanek and he is a Jew. I won’t give away much about the plot so as not to spoil anything, but I remember always being disappointed when we had to stop reading and didn’t get to find out what happened next until the next school day. Alan Gratz has a lot of amazing books about history. Another great one by him is called Code of Honor. It tells the story of a boy who goes from being super popular to a nobody when his brother is accused of being a terrorist. This book constantly kept me on the edge of my seat and its one you should definitely read.

  • Fantasy: Enchantée by Gita Trelease

This novel could fit into many different genres; fantasy, historical fiction, and even romance. It takes place in 18th century France around the time of the French Revolution. There’s a pretty interesting magic system and there’s a very mysterious aspect to the plot. The main character is named Camille who is one of few people who can do magic. After her parents died, she has to find a way to take care of her younger sister, Sophie, with what little money they have. There‘s a love interest in the story who I really like, but the romance is not a huge part of the plot. Give it a read!

  • Dystopian: The Giver by Lois Lowry

There are four books in the Giver series and, as of now, I’ve only read the first two. This is another book I read because of school, but it’s still one of my favorites to this day. It’s about a boy named Jonas who lives in a world very different to ours. Everything is so clean and perfect that its boring. Every family has a limit to the number of members in it, only Nines have certain privileges that Eights don’t, and your forever job is selected for you when you turn twelve. However, when Jonas gets the very unique job of Receiver, does he start to realize that the world isn’t as perfect as he thought. This book introduced me to the dystopian genre and you should check it out!


I will definitely do an updated version in about a year or so, because I’m sure I will have read many more great boo,s to recommend.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page