top of page

The Last Bookshop in London by Madeline Martin - Review

Book Synopsis:

August 1939: London prepares for war as Hitler’s forces sweep across Europe. Grace Bennett has always dreamed of moving to the city, but the bunkers and blackout curtains that she finds on her arrival were not what she expected. And she certainly never imagined she’d wind up working at Primrose Hill, a dusty old bookshop nestled in the heart of London.


Through blackouts and air raids as the Blitz intensifies, Grace discovers the power of storytelling to unite her community in ways she never dreamed—a force that triumphs over even the darkest nights of the war.


My Review:

5/5 stars. This was such a heartwarming but sad at times read that really showed the power of books. I love books about books, and historical fictions set during WWII, so this book had everything going for it and it lived up to it.


From the synopsis alone, this book lured me in. Like I said above, it promised a lot of things I love reading about - books and coziness, romance, and WWII. There was a lot I loved about this book. First of all, Grace was a great protagonist. I don't know what exactly I loved about her, but I enjoyed reading about her a lot. I thought she was characterized well and I loved reading about her journey and growth from the beginning of the book to the end.


As a writer myself, I often notice different writing styles in the books I read, and I really liked this author's writing style. In the first couple chapters, it seemed a bit exposition heavy and unnaturally included, but that didn't stick out to me as I got into the book. Something about the way the author described things and wrote certain sentences was kind of beautiful.


The biggest thing I loved about this book was that it felt like a love letter to books and reading. Multiple times throughout the book, characters would talk about the feeling they got from reading a book - how it sucks you into a new world and you love the characters like your own friends. The whole plot centers around books and shows just how incredible and comforting books can be in the midst of hard times.


There was a bit of romance in this book. While it wasn't a huge plot point, when it was included I thought it was cute and sweet. The love interest was great. At times their relationship seemed too perfect, but sometimes a Hallmark-style romance is nice to read about.


Speaking of relationships, I loved all the familial and friendship relationships in this book. Grace's relationship with her best friend, how certain characters became parental figures to her, and how more hard-hearted, gruff characters came out of their shells because of her - they were all great.


This book evoked lots of different emotions. There were a lot of happy parts, but there were also a lot of heartbreaking things to read about. Ultimately, though, it ended on a positive note. Everything wrapped up beautifully and nicely. I'm a sucker for a good, happy ending, so the ending of this book put a smile to my face.


Content Warning:

No language at all. There is some romance, but it's wholesome - nothing more than a couple kisses. The biggest thing content wise is the descriptions of injury and death from the bombings. While it isn't too graphic and detailed, it is definitely pretty intense. If you're more sensitive to things like that, keep that in mind before reading this book.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page