top of page

The Christy Miller Series - Reflections and Overall Review

Almost two years ago, I was talking to my friend about Christian fiction books, because I hadn't read very many at the time. She told me about a series she read that she loved. That series was the Glenbrooke series by Robin Jones Gunn. After looking up the author on Goodreads, I saw her other series, Christy Miller. My friend had also read all of those ones.


A few months later, after my friend had finished moving into a new house and had unpacked the books, she lent me the first book: The Christy Miller Collection Volume 1, which was the first three books in one. When I would finish one book, I returned it and swapped it out for the next book. We continued that routine throughout the series.


As I read each of the books, I fell in love with the characters and their faith journeys. I loved reading about Christy's growing relationship with God, and her blossoming romance with Todd. Up to that point, I had never really read Christian fiction like that. Now, I've read other CF and have many more on my want-to-read shelf on Goodreads. I love reading wholesome, God-centered stories.


After I finished the main 12-book series, I read the Sierra Jensen series. I didn't feel quite as attached to her, but she was still a very fun character. Once the Sierra Jensen series was finished, I rejoined Christy through her college years, then read a four-book series about her best friend, Katie Weldon. After that, I read Christy and Todd: The Married Years.


The last series was the Baby Years. My friend who introduced me to the series didn't even own those ones, so I purchased them myself. Now that I'm finished, I'm going to give them to her to keep, so she can have the complete collection.


The whole series, spin-off books about the friends included, felt like a long-running TV show where you watch the characters growing up. One of my favorite TV shows, Heartland, is like that. The main character is 15 in the first episode, and viewers watch her grow up, fall in love, get married, and have a kid.


To me, Christy Miller is the main character of the show and I got to watch her life unfold. I loved it. This series is the longest series I've ever read, and it took almost two years, but it was worth it. Each book brought me so much joy. I'm very thankful to my friend who first told me about Robin Jones Gunn's books, and who let me borrow each book.


If you're a Christian teenager and you haven't read this series, I would highly recommend it!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page