top of page

(SPOILDERS) Home of Our Hearts (Christy and Todd: The Married Years #2) by Robin Jones Gunn - Review

Book Synopsis:

Christy and Todd are looking forward to being part of two important weddings. Christy would never think of missing Katie's big day, even though she's getting married in Kenya. Todd has been waiting his whole life to stand up as the best man for his dad's wedding. How will these two grand events fit into their lives and what will Todd say when Christy tells him the doctor's diagnosis the day before they leave for Africa? Will they finally settle in and start a home?


My Review:

5/5 stars. I just love reading about these characters and their lives so much. This book was no exception. It was so cute and so funny and I was smiling most of the way through.


I got through this book really fast. The first half was spread out across a few days, then I went out of town for a week and didn't have the book with me. When I got back home, though, I finished almost half the book in one day because I was very into it.


I loved seeing Katie again. She's always such a fun character to read and this book was no exception. Her wit and sense of humor was really prominent in this book, and I especially loved her banter with Eli and Christy. It was nice to have them back together and interacting.


There were a lot more romantic scenes (flirting, kissing, and talking about being married) in this book than there has been for a while and they were all adorable. They gave me all the warm fuzzy feelings that romance stories give. Similarly, there were some unexpectedly mature jokes included but they weren't inappropriate in any way. It showed that the characters are older now but still keeping it appropriate and pure.


Some of the drama in this book was hit or miss. The description of the book focuses on the "doctor's diagnosis" and makes it sound a lot bigger of a deal than it is. It doesn't end up playing a huge role and isn't even about Christy herself. At the beginning of the book, Christy's mom is in the hospital and there's a concern that she might have some form of cancer. All is well in the end and it's only mentioned a few times throughout the book.


A bigger source of drama that wasn't even mentioned in the description was the possibility of Christy being pregnant. While I knew she wasn't because of the description of the third Married Years book, a part of me was still into it and wanting to keep reading to find out how it played out.


The ending of this book was a little predictable and maybe slightly unrealistic, but I didn't mind. It was still a very cute ending and I was happy for Christy and Todd and how it turned out for them. I'm just excited to start reading the next Married Years right away.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page