top of page

On A Whim (Katie Weldon #2) by Robin Jones Gunn - Review

Book Synopsis:

Ever since high school, Katie Weldon has wondered what it would be like to be Rick Doyle’s girlfriend. As a college senior she’s about to find out.


In the swirl of Katie’s upgraded dating life, she receives an unexplained bouquet, an unexpected call from her mother, an unprecedented girls’ night out with Christy, and an unhappy moment when her beloved car, Baby Hummer, takes its last wheeze. Rick's new roommate, Eli, complicates things by inviting Katie on a midnight jaunt to see a meteor shower. Under a canopy of stars Katie grasps a new view of the universe—out there as well as up close. As if she had nothing else to do, on a whim she singlehandedly starts a fund-raising campaign for clean water for Africa.


With Rick caught up in making plans for the future, how will Katie navigate her way through the remainder of her college career with no money, no transportation, no spare time, and no idea what God is up to?


My Review:

5/5 stars. I definitely enjoyed this book more than the first Katie Weldon book. It had more of a focused plot and conflicts, and it was generally just more fun to read. The ending, especially, was great and makes me excited to read the next one right away.


The fault of the first Katie book for me was that it tried to do too many things in one book, so there wasn't one main plot that got focused on. This one did a lot better with that. The main focus was Katie and Rick's relationship while he was so busy and Katie's budding friendship with Eli. This book, compared to the first one, had a clear direction and purpose.


Speaking of Katie and Rick's relationship, I wasn't as annoyed by it this time. In the first book, there was all the drama about whether or not Rick actually liked her and wanted to be official, and it was very wishy-washy. There was a bit of that in this book with the whole "when will we kiss" conflict, but I didn't find it as irritating.


Eli is introduced fully in this book, and I like him. I know that he and Katie end up together based on reading descriptions of future book, and I can see why. I thought Katie definitely had more chemistry with Eli than with Rick. They understood each other and had secret signals to help each other.


The ending was what really made this book five stars for me. The way that Katie received the inheritance was done well - it didn't feel too coincidental, it was somewhat realistic. I loved Katie deciding to give money to people anonymously, that was really sweet and made me smile. I also want to see how it all plays out next book with the rest of the money.





0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page