top of page

I Promise (Christy and Todd: College Years #3) by Robin Jones Gunn - Review

Book Synopsis:

Christy Miller and Todd Spencer are engaged at last! But now the wedding work begins. Todd's breezy view of life clashes with Christy's meticulous planning. The issues of when and where to get married seem obvious--until everyone's expectations are compared. Then Aunt Marti, Mrs. I-Love-to-Plan-a-Party, jumps in, ready to lay siege over each wedding detail. It's enough to make anyone sing the wedding-bell blues.


Meanwhile, Katie has some unanticipated news of her own. Her renewed relationship with Rick is developing, but everyone wonders what's going on. Is Rick about to break her heart again, or could this be something lasting?


As the time draws closer to the wedding, Todd and Christy face differences between them that might make married life more complicated than they thought, and Christy wonders if their relationship can work when put to the test. Will they make it down the aisle to tell each other "I promise" for the rest of their lives?


My Review:

4.5/5 stars. I liked this one a lot, but I thought it was a little boring compared to the first two college years books. It was cute and had a great ending, but some parts weren’t the most interesting to read about.


Christy and Todd are engaged, so they were very in love and adorable with each other in the book. They got into a couple fights, but that's understandable since they were planning a wedding and overcoming differences.


Speaking of them planning the wedding, however, that was what made this book not a full 5 stars. The majority of the book was spent just wedding-planning and coming up with all the details. Some chapters were focused entirely on specific parts of the wedding, and it was kind of boring to read about. Maybe it's because I've never had a wedding to plan before, but I didn't really enjoy the characters figuring out what cake flavor they wanted or how they want to wear their hair.


One exciting development that I loved was that Tracy was pregnant. I assume their baby is going to be born in the first Katie Weldon book, which is the next one I'm going to read. Reading about the characters getting married and having kids is like watching a long-running TV show where you watch the characters growing up.


A big side-plot was Katie's relationship with Rick developing. I don't really know how I feel about Rick. I like that he's a strong Christian now and that he apologized the Katie and Christy and asked for forgiveness, but I haven't seen enough of him to know what he's like now. That's also something I'll see in the Katie series.


This book was a great climax for Christy and Todd's relationship. After this, there are the married years and the baby years, which I'm going to be reading, but their wedding in the very last chapter felt like the satisfying high point that all the previous books were leading up to.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page