top of page

Finally and Forever (Katie Weldon #4) by Robin Jones Gunn - Review

Book Synopsis:

Katie Weldon wonders if she was crazy to spontaneously fly off to Africa on a mission trip. Suddenly she is dealing with a new culture, a world she's never experienced---and Eli, a friend who is quickly becoming much more. It's all overwhelming...and exciting. As her life turns topsy-turvy, however, she begins to think this might be exactly what she needs. Here, God might give her a glimpse into His will for her life. But just as Kenya and its people find a place in her heart, and her relationship with Eli begins to get serious, Katie is faced with unanswered questions from her past and unresolved issues with Eli. Is she really headed down the same path into the future he is? It doesn't look like it. Why can't she finally and forever settle into a set direction? Living in this new and captivating place, one thing she knows for sure: anything might be possible.


My Review:

4/5 stars. I liked this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as the second and third of the Katie Weldon series. I wasn't into it as much. It started to pick up in the second half, but it was generally not as engaging as the previous two. The ending was adorable, though.


Compared to the last two, this one took me a little longer to get through because I didn't often find myself wanting to pick it back up and keep reading. The first half, especially, was kind of slow and not as interesting. It was a lot of Katie just figuring things out and settling, which is realistic but not that exciting.


Speaking of that, a big part of this book was African culture. I have no experience or authority whatsoever in that area to know whether or not it was portrayed accurately, but that part was interesting. As the reader, I was learning things at the same time Katie was.


Towards the second half of the book, however, things got more interesting and I wanted to keep reading more frequently. There were a lot more conflicts that I wanted to see resolved and more things happening. I probably read the later parts of the book faster than the beginning half.


The relationship between Katie and Eli was cute. I liked that there was more development after the tension and build-up to it in book 3. This book showed that Eli is a much better match for Katie than Rick was. There were lots of sweet and romantic moments between them, and the ending was super adorable.


While this wasn't my favorite of the Katie Weldon series, I still enjoyed it because I love reading about these characters and their lives.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page