top of page

(SPOILERS) Christy Miller Collection Volume 4 by Robin Jones Gunn - Review

Updated: Jul 19, 2022

I'm onto the fourth and final volume of the original Christy series. There are many more in the series (her friends, college years, etc.) that I'll be reading, too, but this is the last one of the Christy high school years. If you've kept up with all three of the previous posts, you know the drill. Three books, three reviews.


Book #10: A Time to Cherish


Book Synopsis:


For Labor Day weekend, Christy Miller is on a houseboat at Lake Shasta. What could be better? She's about to find out! Before they know it, both Christy and her best friend, Katie, are receiving some unexpected male attention. But somehow these best friends are at odds just when they should be having the most fun together. Christy soon realizes that sometimes you have to stand back and let people make their own decisions, even when they're headed for a fall. And although life is never perfect, this is definitely a time to cherish.


My Review:


4.25/5 stars. The beginning of this book was great, the ending was amazing, but the stuff in-between wasn't as good. If the middle was as strong as the rest of it, this would probably be a five star book.


Robin Jones Gunn really knows how to write beautiful settings, notably Hawaii and now the houseboat on lake Shasta. The way the location was described - out on the water, the cool breeze, the pretty sky - made me want to be there with the characters. Speaking of, I wish that they spent more time on the boat. From the synopsis, it made it sound like the majority of the book would take place there, but it was really only the first few chapters.


A big moment in this book: Todd finally committed! After being best friends with Christy and basically acting like a boyfriend for so long, it was about time he actually made it official. He and Christy were so cute in this book, even though Todd wasn't in it for too much.


Another character they met while on the houseboat, Natalie, was very forgettable. (I even had to go back and double check her name) I don't really know what the point of her character was. If she had stayed in contact with the group after and became a friend, it would've made sense, but she was barely there. I'll say this about Natalie, but it's really a thought I have about the whole series: I think it's a little too convenient at times that they meet someone and say "Hey, are you a Christian? Cool me too!" In real life, you don't really just ask someone that when you first meet them, and it's also not very common for both people to be Christians.


After they're off the houseboat, there's not too much of note. Michael is introduced. I love a sweet Irish boy, and Michael has the makings to be that kind of character, but he's not. Based on his appearance, if he was more likeable, he would make a very good love interest. Instead, he's just kind of annoying. Another character that's annoying in this book is Fred. Even with his family backstory thrown in, he's still annoying.


One part in the very middle I loved was when Christy was teaching the children's church class at her church. The way she interacted with the kids was very relatable. Telling them to pretend to be "little mice" as they walked down the hallway and then telling them to find a buddy was very similar to my experiences with little kids.


As is usually the case, the ending was the best part of this book. Seeing Christy and Todd be together and being affectionate with each other was sweet. Then Todd and Christy talking about their relationship and her past stuff with Rick. One line I loved was "God doesn't hold this against you. I don't hold this against you. Why should you hold it against yourself?" It was all very cute.


As I'm nearing the end of the main series, I'm excited to read about where Christy's life goes.

 

Book #11: Sweet Dreams


Book Synopsis:


Christy Miller's senior year is delicious, especially the time she spends with Todd. But her best friend, Katie, is struggling--she's realized she needs to break up with Michael. It's not easy! Fortunately both Doug and Disneyland help Katie to cheer up. Christy is learning to let go and get out of the way so that her friends can become who they're meant to be...even when it jeopardizes her own sweet dreams.


My Review:


5/5 stars. I loved everything about this book, it's definitely one of my favorites out of the series. It gave me all the feels.


In the beginning, when Katie was dealing with her feelings of loving Michael but knowing she shouldn't be with him and wanting to obey God, I really felt for her. I got frustrated with her at first because she was ignoring what she knew God was telling her to do, and again a little later when she was wondering if it was okay to date nonbelievers if it's just for fun and you know you won't marry them. I loved Christy's analogy of not intending to get a ticket when you don't wear a seatbelt.


Fred is in this book, but not as much as the last one, which I'm happy about. Even though Fred went to church and became a Christian, he was still very annoying and didn't know how to take no for an answer, no matter how many times Christy declined his invitation to prom. Speaking of prom, I felt the same way Christy did when Todd was kind of dissing prom. I was annoyed that he was comparing it to a spiritual thing. It's just prom, a fun event.


Todd and Christy's relationship in this book was probably the cutest it's been. They were constantly affectionate with each other and being so adorable. All the little moments like Todd kissing her at their intersection again or just hugging her tightly and being close to her made me all warm and fuzzy inside.


Not only were the romantic moments cute, but I loved all the friendship interactions as well. When the four of them were at Disneyland, specifically in the ice cream shop, I loved the dialogue and teasing between them. I could picture them interacting so clearly in my head. I also liked that Katie went back to her normal self again after Disneyland.


A couple small things: First, Alissa was mentioned once in this book, but she hasn't been in the series in a long time. I hope she's in the future books more, because I like her and want to know what she's been up to in her life. Secondly, I disagree with the idea that men always have to be the initiator. While I do thing it's proper for guys to make the first move a lot of the time, I think Christy should've been able to say "I love you" to Todd when she felt like it was right.


Finally, the ending was not as impactful to me as is was written to be. Todd leaving and Christy wondering if he was ever coming back, and who she would end up with now, wasn't really sad or suspenseful to me because I know the future series. I know she's going to end up with Todd. Maybe it would be more impactful if you were reading the books as they came out, but I'm kind of spoiled with what happens in the future because of the other series.


Despite the ending not hitting as hard, this was still one of the best of the series.

 

Book #12: A Promise is Forever


Book Synopsis:


Christy Miller's going to Europe! It's a three-week missions trip with Doug, Katie, and Tracy. First stop: London for some sightseeing, and then a castle in the English countryside for group training. Christy is so excited to be headed for Belfast with her friends--despite some tension among them. But when plans go topsy-turvy at the last minute, Christy must face her fears and realize that some things are more important than her own comfort...and that even when she can't foresee the end result, a promise truly is forever.


My review:


5/5 stars. I loved this one. It started off a little slow, but the ending made up for everything.


The beginning just immediately jumping in to the plot with the plot with no lead-up, even though that’s happened in previous books, felt way more sudden in this one, partly because it had been almost a year since the last book and Christy was already in college.


One thing I didn’t like was that Christy and Doug were dating. Todd and Doug are best friends snd Doug is just like “Todd’s gone forever, now it’s my turn”. I get that they were just trying to see if there was anything more to their friendship, but it just felt weird. I also think Robin Jones Gunn forgot how old Doig was supposed to be, because in this book he’s a whole 5 years older than her, when I always thought he was only like 3 years older. Just a little confusing thing that also makes them dating even weirder.


I liked the European setting of this book. If was funny when they were in London being stereotypical loud American tourists. The English countryside was described really prettily. We didn’t get any of the France or Spain scenery, because the book ended when she first arrived, which I would’ve like to read about.


This book had lots of little moments that were cute, and sad, and sweet. One such moment was when the girl Avril had to leave because of her brother. Christy being there with her and crying with her was really heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time. The character was unknown, but the emotions felt in the scene were powerful.


I loved seeing Christy realizing her love for working with children, and that she’s figured out what she wants to do with her life, what God was calling her to do. It makes me excited to read about her future in the later series.


The ending was amazing. I figured it out right before the reveal, but it was still great. I was so happy in that moment just like Christy was.


This book was a wonderful conclusion to the series of Christy’s high school years. I’m going to read all the other books including the Sierra and Katie series and Christy’s college, married, and baby years.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page